Welcome to the University of Miami School of Business

Accessibility Navigation:

Undergraduate Business Students and Faculty Recognized for Research

June 28, 2010
Bookmark and Share
Research and Creativity Forum

(L to R): Elisah Lewis, director of research and
student support services, Andrew Fernandez, sophomore,
Sundaresh Ramnath, associate professor of accounting,
John Coleman, junior, Lindsey Morgado, senior, Charles
Walker, senior, Edward Baker, chair & professor of
management science, Robert Till, sophomore. In the
background is Lindsey & Charles and Johns RCF First
Place winning posters.

    Research and Creativity Forum

School of Business Senior - RCF winners at the
University recognition reception at the Bank United
Center on April 6. (L to R) Lisette Hichez, Hayley
Donaldson, Sebastian, Lindsey Morgado, Charles
Walker and Elisah Lewis.

Research and Creativity Forum

Junior First Place: John Coleman 

Research and Creativity Forum

Senior First Place: Lindsey Morgado
and Charles Walker with Elisah Lewis 

School of Business undergraduate students participated in the Annual Citizens Board 2010 Research, Creativity and Innovation Forum.  The winners were named after the university-wide competition on April 6. Sponsored by the Office of Undergraduate Research and Community Outreach and The Graduate School, the Forum is designed to motivate students to engage in peer reviewed research.

The competition is open to University of Miami students from all disciplines and school years who have completed or are currently exploring topics of interest.  Students are required to create an abstract of 250 words and a presentation poster detailing their studies.  Forty-six School of Business students participated individually or with a group.   Students were required to give a 10-minute presentation to each judge and answer questions about their research. Students were evaluated based on presentation style, significance, originality, methodology, and presentation quality. The School of Business students were judged by Linda Neider, vice dean for Undergraduate Business Programs, Chester Schriesheim, distinguished professor of management, John Daniels, Samuel N. Friedland chair professor of executive management, Santiago Mingo, assistant professor of management, Sheryl Alonso, lecturer in management, George Corton, senior director of development, Alex Pons, former director of the Ziff Center, and Mary Young, director of the Ziff Center. 

"This was an extremely worthwhile program in that students not only learned how to present a research study to their peers and faculty judges but also learned from seeing the posters of their fellow students," said Elisah Lewis, director of research and student support services, who organized the business students' participation in the program. "The upper-class students were a wonderful inspiration to the freshmen and encouraged them to be excited about conducting research in the future." 

In addition, the School held a recognition ceremony on April 16 to honor the students who participated in research during the academic year and their faculty mentors.  Each student who participated in the Forum received a certificate and gift recognizing his or her efforts.  The 2010 Leadership in Research Award was given to Seth Levy, a senior, whose mentor was Susan Amat, lecturer in the management department and director of the UM Launch Pad.   The Dedication to Research Award was presented to Christina Farmer, a junior and UM 2010 Student Government President whose research mentor is Joseph Johnson, associate professor of marketing. The 2010 Faculty Mentors of the Year were also recognized with their award winning students.

Two of the participating students were also selected to participate in the Fifth Annual Undergraduate Research Atlantic Coast Conference "Meeting of the Minds" April 16 and 17 held at the Georgia Institute of Technology. The 2011 Meeting of the Minds ACC research conference will be held at the University of Miami.


Lindsey Morgado and Charles Walker - First Place
"Optimization through Simulation"

Hayley Donaldson - Second Place
"Strategically Creating an Investment Portfolio in the 'Down' Market of 2009"

Lisette Hichez - Third Place
A Global Perspective on Women Gender Discrimination

Seth Levy - Honorable Mention
"The Disparity between Skateboard Park Construction and America's Skateboarders - the Opportunity it Presents"

John Coleman - First Place
Carlos Antonorsi - Second Place
Josh Bergman - Third Place
Sara Michalski - Third Place
Christina Farmer - Honorable Distinction
Marco Jovovich and Chris Papa - Honorable Distinction
Richard Treichel - Honorable Distinction
Jennifer Dowd - Honorable Mention
Stephanie Greene - Honorable Mention


Andrew Grizzle - First Place
Robert Till - Second Place


First Place: Brett Abess, Andryk Guerrero, Christian Perilla  
Second Place: Elena Kasparis, Ophelia Bernardino, Deanna Kalil, Rob Konferowicz, Billy Magenheimer, Lauren Risch
Honorable Distinction: Gilad Ashpis, Corey Childers, Jonny Diaz, Stephanie Feit, Caitlyn Scherr, Robert Stacey
Honorable Distinction: Lindsey Adam, Paul Bousquet, Mike Jones, Emily Stanch, Daniel Wilson
Honorable Mention: Tom Fields, Jonathan Rozen, Kuiqing Wu, Xin Zhong
Honorable Mention: Sara Kim, Leah Galinsky, Jenna Gulla, Hadley Manfredi, Lauren Pannone

Faculty Mentors of the Year Award

Dr. Edward K. Baker

Mentor to:

2010 RCF Senior & overall winners Lindsey Morgado and Charles Walker
2010 RCF Sophomore Second Place winner Robert Till
2010 RCF Junior Honorable Distinction winner Richard Treichel
2010 Summer Research Grant recipient Robert Till
2009 RCF Senior & overall winner William O'Rourke

Dr. Sundaresh Ramnath

Mentor to:

2010 RCF Junior First Place winner John Coleman
2010 Summer Research Grant recipient Andrew Fernandez
2009 RCF Senior & overall winner Mathew Fisk
2009 Summer Research Grant recipient John Coleman
Bookmark and Share
    School of Business Administration
    P.O. Box 248027, Coral Gables, Florida 33124-6520
TEL: 305-284-4643
FAX: 305-284-6526
GRADUATE: 305-284-2510
UNDERGRADUATE: 305-284-4641