Welcome to the University of Miami School of Business

Accessibility Navigation:

School’s Top Graduating Seniors and Best Faculty Honored in Annual Awards Ceremony

May 12, 2011
Bookmark and Share

The School’s best and brightest graduating seniors, along with its outstanding undergraduate program faculty were honored in during a special awards ceremony as part of May 2011 commencement activities. The business seniors were joined by parents and other family members, as well as school administrators to celebrate their accomplishments in areas ranging from leadership to service.

“This is truly one of the most exceptional groups we’ve ever had as seniors of the School of Business,” said Linda Neider, vice dean for undergraduate business programs, in opening remarks. “We feel very confident that they will easily meet the challenges that life will put in front of them and that they will make a difference in our world in the years to come.”

      senior awards

Linda Neider, vice dean for undergraduate
business programs and Deborah J. Moss,
winner of the Senior Class Leadership

“Over the past four months, during my tenure as interim dean of the School of Business, I have been privileged to meet and interact with many students, and many of you are here today. And it truly has been the most rewarding part of my job,” added Frances Aldrich Sevilla-Sacasa, the School’s interim dean. “I cannot tell you how impressed I have been with the motivation, enthusiasm, and quite frankly, the intelligence and talent that I have seen here.”

In addition to the top student awards, four faculty members were honored during the ceremony. Anita Cava, a professor of business law, co-director of UM Ethics Programs and director of the School’s Business Ethics Program; Marie Dasborough, an assistant professor of management; and F. Rodger Peterson, a finance lecturer, received outstanding faculty awards. Patricia Abril, an assistant professor of business law, received the Faculty Research Mentor of the Year Award. Also during the ceremony, 11 graduate students and 30 undergraduates were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, the highest academic recognition in business programs accredited by AACSB International.Senior awards


Academic and Leadership Awards

Academic Excellence Awards

Highest Distinction, Dean’s Award, in Memory of Beatrice Gitlow Accounting
  • Stephanie Greene
  • Natalia Hoyos Mesa
Beta Gamma Sigma Award Economics
  • Brandon S. Pickett
  • Carlos E. Antonorsi
Senior Class Research Award Entrepreneurship
  • John J. Coleman
  • Kayla Dittrich
Senior Class Leadership Award Finance
  • Deborah J. Moss
  • Maite Diez-Canedo

Human Resource Management

Undergraduate Division Awards

  • Gillian Arbas
Excellence in Service Award International Finance & Marketing
  • Kristin J. Farnsworth
  • Brittany M. Olerio
Outstanding Peer Counselor Award Legal Studies
  • Gabriel R. Perez
  • Christina R. Farmer


  • Melissa Hebra

Management Science

  • Shaun P. Forbes


  • Mark R. Simek

Political Science

  • Michael T. Blandford
Bookmark and Share
    School of Business Administration
    P.O. Box 248027, Coral Gables, Florida 33124-6520
TEL: 305-284-4643
FAX: 305-284-6526
GRADUATE: 305-284-2510
UNDERGRADUATE: 305-284-4641