Welcome to the University of Miami School of Business

Accessibility Navigation:

Top Graduating Seniors and Faculty Honored in Celebration of Excellence

April 30, 2013
Bookmark and Share
Shannon Nurse, a senior majoring in accounting, received the Dean's Award in Honor of Beatrice Gitlow, which recognizes the senior with highest academic honors.

View Photo Gallery on Facebook

Seniors graduating from the School of Business and top faculty members were honored at the 2013 Celebration of Excellence Awards Ceremony April 25. The event was held to celebrate the accomplishments of students as they prepare for life after college. 

“We take enormous pride in our students and their academic and extracurricular accomplishments, because they hold themselves to such high personal standards,” said Ann Morales Olazabal, vice dean of undergraduate business education.

The Dean’s Award in Honor of Beatrice Gitlow, which recognizes the senior with highest academic honors, went to Shannon Nurse, who earned a 4.0 grade point average as an accounting major. The other top senior honor, the Beta Gamma Sigma Award, was presented to Kiara Green, who also attained a 4.0 grade point average throughout her undergraduate career.

The top students in each academic department were also honored and presented with their awards by a faculty member. The award winners included: 

  • Stephanie L. Feit, Accounting
  • Yufei Liu, Economics
  • Jason R. Shuman, Entrepreneurship
  • John M. Sagliano II, Finance
  • Elena Kasparis, Health Sector Management and Policy
  • Chelsie C. McFarland, Human Resource Management
  • Michael K. Tokunaga, International Finance and Marketing
  • Brandon B. Eckford, Legal Studies
  • Kyle J. Radin, Management
  • Robert E. Stacey, Management Science
  • Dustin R. Tattoli, Marketing
  • Jeremy R. Mizraji, Real Estate
Claudia Townsend, assistant professor of marketing, was one of three professors honored with the Excellence in Teaching Award.

Several awards were also presented to honor undergraduates for their service to the School. Dhrushti M. Desai was honored with the Excellence in Service Award; Jonathan M. Diaz received the Excellence in Leadership Award; and Gilad M. Ashpis and Robert E. Stacey received Excellence in Research Awards.

The University of Miami Model UN was recognized as the Student Organization of the Year, after recently participating in an international program to engage middle and high school students and introduce them to Model UN.

Andryk Guerrero was honored with the “For the Love of The U” Award, which is given to students who exemplify a public-spirited commitment to UM and the School of Business.

Students from undergraduate classes were also recognized for their academic achievements. Award winners included:

  • Daniel Moubayed, Freshman Student of the Year
  • Jian Yan, Sophomore Student of the Year
  • Zachary Bernheimer, Junior Student of the Year

The students themselves honored three faculty members with Excellence in Teaching Awards. They included Sundaresh Ramnath, associate professor and chair of accounting; Claudia Townsend, assistant professor of marketing; and Karen Turner, lecturer of business law. Edward Baker, department chair of management science, received the Research Mentor of the Year Award.

Bookmark and Share
    School of Business Administration
    P.O. Box 248027, Coral Gables, Florida 33124-6520
TEL: 305-284-4643
FAX: 305-284-6526
GRADUATE: 305-284-2510
UNDERGRADUATE: 305-284-4641